Monastery of Panagia Kastrianni

The Monastery of Panagia Kastriani, who is also the patron of the island, is within a walking distance from Otzias Beach, on the northeast of the island. The monastery is built on the location that the image of the Virgin was found by shepherds in 1700. Initially, a small chapel was built there (1708) and the monastery as we know it today was built in 1910 in order to accommodate the crowds of people who gathered to pray. The monastery cells function as hostels, and local delicacies are served in the dining room.